New at this planted thing!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

CheeseHead88

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey Guys I have been keeping fake plants for a couple years now, and now I am getting a bigger tank possibly a hundred gallon, and I want to go all out. I am really looking into plants and substrates because I want a ton of cory cats, first off though I need to know how the maintenance goes for a planted FW vs. a non planted FW tank? What are the chores involved? Thanks!:)

For the most part, it's the same. Water Changes are more critical though, as the fresh water brings in trace elements that help your plants out.

If you're going all out, you'll also need really good lighting, fertilizers and CO2.

OUtside of that, the only other real chore is trimming your plants as they grow.

Lighting for one is a must, do you have any suggestions? I would like to keep my tank covered from outside particles should I put a top on it, how about glass tops, does that affect the rays of the lamps? What are good fertilizers to put in your planted tank? And is there a such thing as liquid CO2? Thanks Again!

I use glass tops on all my aquariums, while it does block some of the light (especially if you let them get overly dirty) I think the benefits from keeping the fish in and limiting evaporation are well worth it.

What ferts you need depends on how much light you put over the aquarium. Since you're talking CO2, I suspect this will be a high light setup. As a result you'll want a good trace supplement (CSM+B, Flourish "Comprehensive", or Tropica Plant Nutrition) along with Nitrate (KNO3), Phosphate (KH2PO4), and Potassium (K2SO4). Dry ferts are definately the most economical way to fertilizer your aquarium.