New member seeking help.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

GJMattingly

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I have a 20 gallon long tank with nothing but gravel it. I'm only 15 so I have a tight budge but I love the looks of planted tanks. I have a filter and a heater picked out just not purchased and they are for 20 gallon tanks. I want to plant it but I have only the lighting in my room and no CO2 or dirt. I don't really want to dirt it but I guess I can if need be. I'm putting some drift wood in it and some stones because I want a natural look. I was thinking like jungle val in the back, some small plants in the front and back but sparsely planted and java ferns in some places on the wood. Would this work. I've no experience with planted tanks. I want three red cherry shrimp, one Oto Catfish, about 5 cardinal tetras, and a rainbow shark ( may change this up a bit) but I don't know if that really matters. Just any tips or help would be nice. I really have no clue and I tried researching it but got confused. Any plant recommendations are wanted because I don't really know. So it's a low tech tank with low light so hardy plants needed. Thanks In advance, Grainger.