New Pond ?'s

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Velksfish

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I am looking into building a pond either this fall or next spring. I live in Nebraska so it will need to be able to make it through the winters.

I would love to have a koi or 2 but everything I'm am reading says they need 1,000 gallon minimum.

I have to a lot of questions and ideas but wanted to get as much information as I can before I start.

Is it better to use the pre-formed liners or the tarp liner??? I have seen the pre-formed liners as big as 250 gallon. Is this a good size??

What kind of fish can I get ?? Koi, gold fish, turtles. ??? What kind of fish are hardy, cool looking, and will work in my pond????

I wouldn't mind having a water fall of some kind.

Like I said I am totally new to ponds so any information I can get will be great and I'm sure it will spark lots and lots of questions.

Thanks in advance

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Happy to help you get started in the right direction! Research and asking lots of questions will help make this project much easier and result in a much happier outcome.

So, let's start with the weather in your area. How are your winters? Cold (32f or less)? Freezing (single digits or below 0f)? Snowy? What about summers? Heatwaves (90+f)? High humidity or dry? Weather is a huge factor in pond design as weather extremes are easier to manage with a deep inground pond. Managing weather extremes will to ensure your fish can survive the seasons.