New Tank Will Not Cycle?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Passionweed

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Greeting's Fish Lovers,

This is my first time postings. I am new to this hobby and think I may have 'jumped the gun' so to speak on my new 5.6 gallon Fluval tank. I purchased the tank for my desk and within a few days I introduced 4 fantail guppy's. All is well...

So now I start actually researching (what I should have done in the first place) and I learn about cycling a tank. I did purchase the API test kit for the basic water parameters (pH, ammonia, nitrite, nitrate) < the liquid test kit, not the dip stick type. I've been expecting gloom and doom since I had these fish in an un-cycled tank. So far (it's been 3 weeks now) everyone is happy and healthy and eating well. Here's what I do not understand....there is continually 0 readings on ammonia, nitrite and nitrates. The pH is a perfect 7. I would have thought something (ammonia?) would have started rising by now as these fish eat and poop a LOT! Nada! I took water samples to Petsmart thinking maybe I was doing something wrong but they told me the water is perfect.

I use well water, my water goes through no filters and comes out of the ground at a pH of 7 without my doing anything. I have been changing 1 gallon of water every 3 days since reading about this cycling thing.

My question....is this an anomaly? Will this small tank ever cycle or should I just continue to change 1 or 2 gallons of the water every three days (which is no problem) or should I let the aquarium just run without doing partial water changes and let what happens, happen. I hate to jeopardize the fish as they are a lively bunch and seem VERY happy in their new home. Swimming and very curious about the tank and showing brilliant coloring and excellent appetites.