new tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bob_thing5

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi, I am new to the forum, although I havnt had a tank for about 3 years I have had 3 years of active experience with a 50 gallon mainly and many other sizes as well. I am starting up for the first time in years and I want to do a planted freshwater aquarium (sorry if this is in the wrong section, I am new to the forum).
I want a 55 gallon tank preferably acrylic all clear with a light blue background, I would like built in filtration but I have noticed it costs an arm and a leg. does any body have any ideas I would like to spend 200$ on just the tank but get an acrylic with curved sides and no borders. the reason I want built in filtration is to hide as many components as possible, I want the least amount of equipment to be noticeable, so the extra space for heaters and stuff is nice.
as for the rest I plan to get the Turbo CO2 Bio-System http://www.drsfostersmith.com/produc...1&pcatid=14711
Eco-Complete Plant Substrate
http://www.drsfostersmith.com/produc...87&pcatid=9087
First Layer Pure Laterite
http://www.drsfostersmith.com/produc...76&pcatid=4876

as far as filtration goes I dont know what to get due to the fact that I dont know weather I will be getting a built in filtration system. I was thinking of getting something that removes ammonia, heavy metals and bad odor and smells, and nitrate, nitrite, and phosphates, I dont know if that is over kill but it sounds good, I know plants need phosphate but I was planning on adding Flourish Tabs in the last section of the filtration to replenish a positive amount of phosphate along with other nutrients. and I was also wondering as far as vitamin supplements and slime coats and water conditioner, bacteria ect. what are the best?