new tank!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TechnoFreak

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey all,

I've decided to start a reef aquarium so i've been looking for a tank. I first thought i'd buy one, then I thought I'd build one. But now I'm not sure what to do. I will know, however, as soon as you guys can help me answer a (maybe) simple question.

I went shopping through an aquarium/pet shop near my area and they sell a large 4' x 2' x 2' tanks which is the size I'm after. With this tank they have glass seperating the tank into two, the main section and a section across the entire back length of the tank which contains a trickle filter which supposedly does the mechanical, biological and chemical filtration and then that water is pumped through a protein skimmer then pumped back into the tank.

It looks as if though this setup is quite good but I'm a newbie so someone else might have a different opinion. They sell the setup for AUD$700.

Now the question I pose to you is whether or not this setup is worth it. Is it better than having a seperate unit to filter/treat and manage the water quality? If it is, then I'll buy the tank as constructing one like this would be too difficult. If it is better to have seperate equipment then I'll construct my own tank to economise. Help please guys.

Also, should under-gravel filters be used in reef aquariums?

Alex

Under gravel filters should NEVER be used in a reef, because they trap debis under there messing up your water quality. I think the tank is good but I dunno about the efficiency of trickle filters. But If you do get the tank, replace the bio-logical filtration with LR rubble, as I heard it is much better.