Newbie needs big time help!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

USFveggie

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am a school teacher and was given a 3gal JBJ Pico tank about a month ago. Being completely ignorant about fish keeping I just took the fish, its gravel, and live plants and put water in the tank and threw in some fish. Well the students named them and got attached, and one of the gold gouramis died. I tested the water yesterday and ammonia, hardness, and ph were all high. I filled it with spring water when I got it. I vaccumed the gravel yesterday before I left for the weekend, and I am praying the fish are alive when I get back on Monday. School gets out this Thursday. After that I plan on taking the entire tank apart and cleaning it out. Replacing filters, and replacing gravel and plants (snails are starting to reproduce again).

What else should I do and what can I do about the water and its high levels/hardness? I really know pretty much nothing about keeping fish so any advice is welcome.

read the post on top that is cycling for dummies. But don't be hard on yourself we have all made the same newbie mistakes.

Okay I will definitely read that. Another question I have is, the pico manual says to not change the white bio filter. Should I never change this? Even when I cycle it?