Newbie Question 2

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

AirRazr

Aquarium Advice Activist
I made another post talking about rock. I am very new at this and I have another question.

Monday Night I set up my tank. Put in the salt, water, hooked up the heater and filter. Been taking SG and Salinity readings. My SG is approx 1.024.

Here was my basic game plan. I ordered 45 lbs of LR from liveaquaria.com which was supposed to be here on Thursday. I was going to go ahead and put the rock in on Thursday and then run up to my LFS, take a water sample for them to test and providing my other levels are good, pick up a few damsals to start my cycle. My rock shipment has been delayed til next week. Should I proceed in my plan and go ahead and add my damsals (providing my tests are good) or wait until the rock comes in.

Any advice would be good.

TIA

Wes

DON'T CYCLE WITH FISH! There's no reason to risk the health of fish just to cycle your tank.

Do a quick search on the forums here for all the information about fishless cycling. Your live rock may have enough die off on it to cycle the tank, but the shrimp method is very popular too.

Again, don't cycle with fish...it's unnecessary, and more difficult than a fishless cycle.

everything i read says to cycle with fish......even my LFS says use damsals (that could just be for the sale though). Is it personal preference to do fish vs fishless cycling. Will the fish cause the cycle to happen faster than without the fish?

You're reading the wrong books, and yes the LFS is either old skool, or just wants to make money by selling you fish that'll probably die.