The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ctetra18

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hey I'm just figuring out how to work this,so go easy on me.

I am mostly a reptile person but I have been getting into fish. I want to make a 20 gallon saltwater so everything is helpfull

Ok dumb question.fw snails tend to leave more waste than they clean, is that true for sw? What is the best beginner sw tank size

Welcome! I'm new to the salt water scene. I have a 135g fowlr tank. It's been up and running for about 3/4 months now. I've heard that its easier to start with a larger tank... What size tank are you thinking about getting?

20-40 gallons... I don't want a huge expensive tank

A CUC (clean up crew) consists of SW snails, hermits, etc. Their job is to scavenge for left over food, most eat diatoms and some nuisance algae. They do create waste, but it's very minimal. We're talking about 5 snails say in a 30. Depending on what you think, generally people may get around 60 snails (varying species) and some hermits as well. Also if a fish or invert dies (and usually they will hide in rock so you can't find/get them) they will eat the dead animal before it decays and raises the nitrate. Nassarius are my favorite!
Ideas of CUC members:
Reef Cleaners| Clean up Crews and Macroalgae

General great online store w/ quick stats and info:
Aquarium Fish: Tropical Freshwater Fish and Saltwater Fish for Home Aquariums