nitrite HELP

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Stacie3972

Aquarium Advice Regular
Ok so today marks 3 weeks of 2 75% pwc a day on my fish in tank cycle. I have put in safe start and it actually made the nitrite higher that day. Please tell me what I am doing wrong and why they nitrite won't go down! Getting very frustrated.

A few questions to help me understand...
1, how long has tank been set up
2 , size if tank and how many fish
3, how many water changes you doing
I have just completed my cycle and im new to this so may be able to help?

The tank has been up a month and a week maybe. Fish I have 2 parrots 5 gromies 1 pleco 1 chocolate cichlid 1 red belly cichlid 1 golden severum (probably to many for cycling but I had no idea this is what you needed to do and listened to a person at a fish store and they said it could be done with this many) should have done the research instead of listening to the fish store ppl I know this now. And my tank is a 50 gallon. Taking fish back is not an option I asked they said because of the poor water quality no refund and they will hold them but if they die its my loss and will not replace and seeing as how these ppl are the ones that told me this number was okay for starting a tank i don't trust taking my fish back there.

ok....yes i guess its the amount of fish whilst cycling.....I would increase your water changes....possibly to twice a day if needed......
I did water changes every other day and tested every day...using api master.....are you using vac when doing pwc ?

I am doing 2 a day 75% each time. Am I supposed to vacuum every day? I have sand and I do it once a week.

maybe 75 % is too much? I was doing 30% each time...every other day...and vac at same time.....maybe at 75 its taking too much out at one time??

The reason I am doing 75 twice a day it to keep the nitrite at 0 is that wrong