Nitrogen cycle

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ShaunV

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hello everyone. I am new to the saltwater world and I am having a little trouble understanding the nitrogen cycle. I started my tank on 3/5/2012 with live rock and live sand. I have been testing my water everyday and have found that I am always getting a reading of 0 for ammonia and nitrites. Over the last 3 days, my nitrates level has been rising and I am currently reading about 15ppm. I don't understand how my nitrates level can be rising when I have not seen any ammonia or nitrites. Is this even possible? It seems as though my tank would not cycle without ammonia and nitrites going up first. Am I missing something here? I do see life I the tank. I see amphipods, a couple of very tiny feather dusters that came in on my LR and, unfortunately, very small aiptasia, and what I think is small spaghetti worms. I have placed a peppermint shrimp in on 3/12/2012 to hopefully get rid of the aiptasia. Thanks in advance for any responses.

Reeffanman said:
What did you use as an ammonia source to cycle the tank?

I used 30# LS and 22# of LR. I was told I would not need to add anything more than that, just to be patient.

Thank you for the link to the article on the nitrogen cycle. It does explain a lot. However, it does not explain why I would have nitrates when I have not added, nor seen, ammonia or nitrites. My source water did not have nitrates either. Also, I now have a peppermint shrimp in the tank to rid my tank of small aiptasia. If I add ammonia to the tank, won't the kill the shrimp?

You most likely has some form of dieoff from your liverock that slowly turned into nitrates.

Also, if you're not cycled i would return that peppermint shrimp to your LFS. It's only going to suffer during the cycling process.