Novice that needs help!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

brian7

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi. I am new to the hobby, so I please ask that there is no harsh criticism. Thanks. Sorry this may be long

I set up a brand new 55 gallon, and in doing research I learned I needed to cycle my tank. So I was going the fishless route until I learned shortly after that I was using ammonia with surfactants... I took all of the water out and started over, this time with fish.
I bought to long fin zebra danios to cycle my tank, being nieve and new to the hobby I felt bad for the two little guys and bought four more a few days later, know that they are schooling fish. To make long story short my girlfriend talked me into getting guppies more schooling fish... we now had 12 fish.
I was adding biozyme to kick start the bacteria. The ammonia did not seem to take too long to drop. But now i've been stuck with high nitrites for a few weeks now, this is where I need help. I was adding salt to help with the high nitrite levels. After a while of them remaining high I figured putting a couple live plants would help reduce the nitrites. Still high nitrites. In research I stumbled across seachem prime. A few days ago I purchased this product, immediately put 5x the dose is (5 caps) because this was an emergency. It immediately seemed to drop the nitrites from 2-5 ppm to .25. This is great. Next day they seemed a little higher than .25. I did about a 10% water change and added one cap of prime. Day three they seem to still be at .25. After all this being said I just need advice on what to do. Am I almost done?

Notes: I have been doing very frequent water changes. I have a decoration that blows bubbles and a bubble curtain, a sufficient filter (not under gravel). Let me know if more info is needed.