Opinions on lighting a 75

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Zimmanski

Aquarium Advice Addict
So I'm upgrading my lighting on my 75g next week and I've already decided on a ray 2 but I also have a coralife dual t5ho on it now, so I'm asking for suggestions on if I should keep the ray 2 and t5 or the ray 2 and replace the t5 for a fugeray or monster ray. Hoping for upper medium light, I dose PPS and pressurized co2. Any thoughts?

I am no light expert but you could always just watch plant growth and go Ray 2, if thats not enough got ray 2 + 1 t5ho blub, and then ray + both bulbs to get what you need.

I am no light expert but you could always just watch plant growth and go Ray 2, if thats not enough got ray 2 + 1 t5ho blub, and then ray + both bulbs to get what you need.

I guess I'm going to start with the ray 2 and the t5 and see how it goes, I'm really just kind of ready to move away from the t5s and bulbs entirely, just use too much energy and I don't like changing the bulbs(time to do that, that's why I'm asking). I tried looking up par values for my fixture so I could compare it with the others but failed. I searched google and a few forums, just couldn't find my exact fixture and I'm no where near good enough to take a guess at its par.

Anyone use two finnex fixtures on their tanks what to share their experience with them and whatnot?

Honestly I'd test it out with just the single Ray 2 for a little while to see how it goes. I know LEDs are said to have a hard time penetrating deeper tanks, but the PAR chart states 73 at 18". That's not too bad, IMO, and should be easy to balance. If you wanna add a bit more light and color I think your idea of using the monster ray would be a decent choice. I prefer the bright white though, but that's just my visual preference.