**Overflow Issue** HELP!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

GuyeWinfield

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hey everyone!
First off, thank you for taking the time to read my thread. I could really use some help. I am relatively new to the hobby of saltwater reef tanks. I just recently bought a 72 gallon bow front tank with a 30 gallon refugium. It has plumbing already attached and an overflow box with 3 drains. Primary, secondary, and emergency drain. It also has 2 output lines. I will attach pictures so you can see the entire setup. :)

Okay, so on to my overflow issue...

My first attempt at filling the tank wasnt such an easy process, as the drains required some fine tuning to get the flow perfect. Nevertheless, some trial and error, I was able to get it flowing perfectly. I didnt feel comfortable leaving the tank running over night, so I decided to shut off the pump. The overflow box was empty, so as the water settled, I thought I was safe. That was my first mistake. I didnt think to close the ball valve for the output line and the output hoses were submerged underwater. So yes it caused a syphon and drained water, I woke up to the tank water level about 3 inches below where I left it and the refugium was filled to the brim and had overflowed. I drained out some water and decided to give it another shot a few days later. :facepalm: