Overflow tank issue

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

WeraE1

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I got a Red Sea Reef setup two days ago. Last night it started making gurgling noises and I noticed that the water was extremely low in the overflow tank and excessive air bubbles were in the main tank. It was very noisy. I had to turn off the power because I was afraid I would burn out the pump. Does anyone have any idea about what may have happened? Also I am new to this hobby and only know how to clean the filters and empty the skimmer. I am unfamiliar with the other components attached to the sump. I’m worried about the fish and coral.

Are you talking about the water level in the sump?

Water evaporates over time. You need to be adding fresh water to maintain the water level in the sump otherwise it will evaporate and kill the pump. What in the sump are you unfamiliar with? Did you purchase a full setup with fish and coral that was already cycled?

I get about a gal a day of evaporation its pretty normal you need to top off between water changes .

Overflow Issue Resolved

I did need more water, but the problem was caused but a piece of styrofoam that clogged one of the hoses.

I use a 90 dgree elbow on the intake of my pumps so they draw off the very bottom of sump. About 1/4 inch off bottom. Most have threads for one.
Even with inches of good water a strong pump can cause cavitation [whirlpool] that will draw bubbles into the return.
Have you made marks on your sump so you know what full is running ?
To do so turn the pump off and then wait for tank to settle and stop overflowing.Fill the sump to about 2" from the top.Then turn pump back on and mark the level on sump after running and balanced for a couple minutes.This will be the full when running level so you don't over fill your sump and have issues if power fails or during some maintenance .