Pea Puffer Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

paularchibald8

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I have recently decided to purchase a pair of Pea Puffer fish also Known as Dwarf puffers the ones that only gett 1" in size. I have owned many type of tanks in the past guppies, gouramis, bettas, killifish, loaches,cichlids, axolotls and i have bred alot of fish too but this is my first time with these small puffers and I currentyl have them in a 10 gallon and will probably move them to a 20 gallon, but i am looking for some suggestions for tank mates for them. I know some people have said just leave them in a species tank but i am gonna give it a try with some others and keep a close eye on them, so I was looking if anyone had any suggestions for some cool fish that arent very large and have a little bit of an aggresive temperment so they dont get picked on. Thank you

Many people seem to have luck with Otocinclus, personally I don't care for them, but they're the most popular option. I usually keep mine with ghost shrimp without issues.
Also, I prefer odd numbers with the dwarf puffers. If you have enough lines to break up sight I'd add a third, preferably female. In a 20 I'd keep 5.
Keeping any other fish as tank mates is a gamble. It all depends on their personality as you've probably heard. The more puffers you get, the more risk you run of having that one jerk though that hates tank mates.