Please help, trying to rescue a fish that has been in a 1 gallon unfiltered tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Huntceci

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Please help!
I am totally new to everything fish and I recently got a rescue Carnival fair fish from someone Who has had the fish in a 1 gallon tank unfiltered for 2 1/2 months.
I bought a 16 gallon steralite bin for him to hang out in until I can cycle the tank I bought for the poor goldfish but I can't figure out if it will be better for him or I should just keep him in the small unfiltered tank and continue doing 100% water changes every day including cleaning rocks and fake plant.
The bigger problem...is that I have already tried cycling the tank twice which has taken one month.
I have spent $275 or more on supplies for everything from safe start (haven't used yet) to water dechlorinator (prime and tetra Aqua safe plus) to water test kits you name it, I got it, Tupperware and everything else so that no soap has ever touched anything including my hands which is kind of hard to understand how to do.. I use gloves most of the time .
After cycling for two weeks, my aunt without asking washed the filter with tapwater because she saw something black on it. So I started again from day one. Then two more weeks of cycling and a pet store owner (I know I know I know, never again will I do that) told me to bring the tank in and that he would take care of the tank for free with his special water etc the way he does his tanks and it would cycle the tank very quickly.