Pleco Identification and Plant Safe Algae Eaters

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

J Migidy

Aquarium Advice Regular
What kind of pleco is this? It's around 8 inches long and about 3 years old. It seemed to stop growing a year ago but I have no idea if it is the type that gets bigger.
img_928584_0_ef3c08a855b5b1fbb1a7012ef8c08db4.jpg

img_928584_1_b5aad7eb40fcad92623c879972b473a4.jpg

img_928584_2_27c12f0d656f916dcc41e2a60d0e9123.jpg

img_928584_3_fe0799e5893a6502e86a7a350d2ec1ab.jpg

He eats and uproots every plant I've ever had except for Java Moss. I'm thinking of donating him to the LFS. Are there any algae eaters that are good for the planted tank. I'm more concerned with the type that grows as a thin film or dusting on aquarium plumbing, glass and plant leaves. I've heard SAE's and Twig Catfish are good?

I'm no pleco expert but it looks like a sailfin pleco to me: Overview of the available plecostomus species with pictures

For good algae eaters it depends on the current tankmates and what YOU like personally. Some people don't like snails but nearly all of them will do a great job with algae. Dwarf shrimp such as Amanos, red cherries, yellows, blue pearls, and snowball shrimp would also be great for keeping algae in check. Ottos are another choice and true SAE's would work but I think they mainly go for certain types of algae.

I'd look into WHY you have algae in the first place. I suspect that your tank is overstocked and you have high nitrate levels in your tank and insufficient lighting. If you don't have the lighting your plants won't be able to remove the nitrates, they won't grow and they will start to decay, encouraging your pleco to eat them.