Plywood Aquarium

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JDogg

Aquarium Advice Addict
Ok for those of you who do not know I am a science teacher, at an Alternative High School, so i have more freedom then average science teacher when it come to curriculum. i am currently teaching an Independent Study class where i alow the student to design their own projects. one of my students (who who shares our interest in this great hobby) was brain-stoming ideas on how he could do a science related project and include the aquarium hobby. the project he come up with was to build an aquarium, research what to keep in that tank, and write up a detailed plan, documenting the whole proccess of construction, scaping and stocking. he is using the plans from the Cichlid Forum- Plywood Aquarium.

1. has anyone tryed to build one of these?

the plan is to build the stand as part of the tank, his depension give him ~120 gallon tank. i expresses so concern about the weight, which i hope he takes into account, do to the fact that his bed-room is on the second floor of his house.

2. the one major deviation in the linked plan is he plans to replace pieces of glass, with one 2 foot x 4 foot piece of acrilic, with a center brace. does anyone see a problem with this, my concern is the acrillic bowing :?

any other thoughts and suggestions would be great!

I wouldn't trust my lack of craftsmanship to hold spice jars let alone water. I love reading the DIY forums, but I am without the skills or tools to put things together.

This is an interesting concept. At first I did not think much about it, but I have to admit that it has merit. Many of us spend time and money covering the back and sometimes the ends of our tanks with paint, posters, and other things. Who says they must be made out of glass?