Pressurized CO2 and declining bubble count?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Barliman

Aquarium Advice Addict
Hi all,

I'm new to the world of pressurized CO2 and need some advice. :puppydogeyes:

Yesterday I set up a paintball CO2 system with the following configuration:

24 oz. jar (Amazon)
Paintball regulator with solenoid (GLA)
Bubble counter (GLA)
Tubing (GLA)
Drop-checker (GLA/Cal Aqua)
Diffuser (Some Chinese glass one from my LFS)

Following the directions and the advice from GLA (very fast responders), I set the working pressure to 10 PSI and a bubble count of one bubble every 1-2 seconds as a start. But I've run into a problem... :banghead:

The bubble count keeps going down fairly rapidly. For example, I set it to 1 bubble per second (Boy, are those needle valves sensitive), but then the bubble rate declines to one every few seconds over about a half hour. (The output pressure seems to stay steady at 8 after setting the bubble rate.)

Is this normal breaking in/adjusting, or is it indicative of a problem, such as a leak? If a leak, where might it be? The regulator or the input to the bubble counter? This doesn't feel like a leak to me, though.

Anyway, I've shut it off for the night. (It's on a timer, but I don't want it running while I'm away at work until I get this sorted out.) Any help or advice is appreciated.

:thanks:

If it's a ceramic disc diffuser youll want the working pressure closer to 30 psi.

If it's a ceramic disc diffuser youll want the working pressure closer to 30 psi.

Thanks for the reply. That's just the kind: an inverted bell with a ceramic disc. But now I'm confused (not an unusual state):

I wrote GLA and told them I had an off-the-shelf glass diffuser, and they wrote back saying the working pressure should be 5-10. I had originally set it to 30, don't recall if the bubble count declined then.