Question on cycling new planted tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

wazgud

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi guys, I am new to this hobby. So far I've purchased a 37g tank a 40g filter and a 200w heater. I've read online that it is necessary to cycle the tank to ensure a stable water chemistry. I've read that it can take weeks to cycle an aquarium, I don't want to wait that long.

I found that you can use Tetra's Safestart to speed up the process and it will take less than a week to cycle the tank.

Has anyone ever used Safestart, if so is it any good and how long did it take for your tank to cycle?

Also if I added this(safestart) to my tank, can I add it with the plants that I purchased or must I add the plants after the water is stable?

Can I put gravel in along to cycle?

I am using a mix of Eco Complete and regular National Geographic gravel, how will the bacteria in Eco Complete compete with the one in safestart?

Can I add some fish when I use safe start? How about shrimp?

If I change my filter(just the cartridge) will I need to add more safestart?

WILL I EVEN NEED SAFESTART? Since I am going for a planted tank will this even be necessary? Plants use the nitrogen too!

It's a long list a question, I know, but if anyone could answer these questions for me it would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Gravel is fine, putting fish in should be fine (if they aren't very sensitive fish), but don't do any shrimp yet. Do use Safestart, but I'd recommend a different stabilizer called Stability, it's manufactured by Seachem, and says that any time during the cycle, it's fine to add fish as long as you're using Stability.

Ohhh thanks, but is it safe to plant some plants along with this?