Raising baby Octopi

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Nojo

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Greetings all,

I am a fairly experienced hobbyist that recently decided to take the plunge and keep a specimen tank housing an octopus. It turned out much better than expected, it has been a fantastic addition and has completely captivated not only myself but anyone that comes over to watch her.

Recently though I have noticed a change in her behavoir and was able to tell that I had purchased a pregnant octopus. I'm well researched on most of what is to happen next, but one thing I can't find out is on what to feed the octopi when they hatch. I know that she'll expire shortly after, and I know that frequent water changes and lowering the circulation is essential, but I have not got one conclusive answer on what, if anything, these guys will eat. I figure that if I can get even 1 to survive to adulthood then I've done an amazing job. I've tried posting on tonmo.com but have not got any response yet. If anyone can point me in the right direction, any and all help would be greatly appreciated.

Ok, well for one octopi is incorrect terminology and the correct plural is octopuses ;) What species of octopus?

I believe you are wrong on the plural form, my friend...but at any rate the exact species is not known. It was not available from either the LPS nor their distributor, which has caused a bit of grief to say the least. The best I can do is tell you that it is not a dwarf octopus and is much more inclined to be nocturnal unless it is VERY hungry. Trying to work on a quality photograph but as she spooks easily that has proven to be very hard to do, even 4 months after having her. And especially seeing as she has barricaded herself into a cave.