Sad danio

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

elaine5182

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Ok so I have a 60l tank with 3 pearl danios 1 zebra danio 1 leopard danio 3 male guppies and 6 female guppies. Since putting the females in on Sunday our zebra danio seems sad and tends to stay by itself and just bob around near the surface.

Is there any reason why this would happen?

Thanks

P.s. Can't wait for us to get some baby guppies

Hey,

Danio's are a schooling fish as far as i know and should be kept in groups of 6 or more, try adding a few more zebra danio's and see if things improve, issue is you're tank is fairly full so try not to add too many.

Okay, I'm the first to admit I'm a total newb when it comes to fish, but is your tank 60gal or 60litr? If it's liters, you sound horribly overstocked. Your danio could be hanging out at the top because he's sick, not because he's lonely or sad. Do you know what your water parameters (ammonia, nitrIte, and nitrAtre) are, and how long has your tank been cycling?

Hopefully someone more experienced than me will be able to chime in soon with better help. :(

If it is an overstocking issue, he may be staying near the surface and being inactive because of low oxygen levels.

It's a 60l tank we have. Don't know if I should add more danio if we are overstocked? How can this be rectified without losing any fish

You're probably not overstocked - there's the great myth about overstocking that is perpetrated in the aquarium community. Some people will want you to have two danios in a 50 gal tank and still not be satisfied. If you have a good amount of fish in your 60 ltr just make sure you increase the frequency or intensity of your cleaning.

I would say thought that you could replace your 6 female guppies with 5/6 danios. Would look better.