Salt Bath Numbers?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

aquanewbie72

Aquarium Advice Activist
I have read several places that recommended a "salt bath" or "dip" for fishes with dropsy. However, I'm having a really hard time finding an exact recipe... or at least any 2 that agree.
I've looked all over the Internet and seen everything from 1/8tsp to a gallon to 2tsps to 1Tablespoon...
and I've some sites say leave the fish in it for 3-5 minutes, and others say as much as 15-20 minutes.
And Frequency - some sites say do it once a day, others 3x day?

Does anyone have a method they have used with any amount of success that they could share? I've got a gourami I'm trying to save.

Also, after you remove the fish from the "dip"- if it worked will you see results instantly or does it take a while?

THANKS!

I am no expert on gourami, but what I know is that salt (that's common salt) is bad for dropsy. For dropsy, MgSO4 (epsoms salt) is suggested. Dosage is 1/4 tsp/ 10 gal. FAIK you leave the fish in that until it gets better ... (days?) ... rather than as a bath. You would also need to treat the underlying cause of the dropsy - which would involve antibiotics.