Salvini or Kenyi

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ThatsCrayFish

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hey guys, I'm new to the cichild's but very interested in them, I went out and bought long 55 gal to go with my 46, and 20. I was looking at doing a pair of Salvini's or a few Kenyi's, however when researching them I saw that the Kenyi are a really agressive breed and they recommend overstocking the tank to control aggression, I have a 90 gal+50 gallon filter that I'll be running so filtration isn't an issue, I just don't want to overstock the tank and have them be unhappy and cramped but this is where my lack of knowledge on cichild's has lead me, hoping someone can shed some light on the subject and help me make a decision, Or another suggestion as well, I'm looking for omnivorous or carnivorous.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Srry I have not kept Kenyis but I have kept a salvini. They stay relatively small to their other cichlid friends, but are nonetheless aggressive and beautiful. If you could get a breeding pair that would be cool, but would create havoc for the tank. I would recommend getting a salvini and jack Dempsey combo, I've done these two together and they work fine. As for other stock for a 55, I would do a Bichir cause they are cool in general and maybe a pike cichlid. Hope this helps

Sent from my fish tank

Salvini males will hit the 8" mark and females slightly smaller at 6". A 55 would be bare minimum for a spawning pair with no tank mates. Also I don't suggest keeping any other species with them in a tank that size. I can barely keep 8 2" fry in a 40b for grow out with out shredded tails.

Kenyi like Salvini are also very aggressive towards other species as well as conspecifics and top out around 6"