Seachem Prime

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sidsam

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi all,
Total newbie here, first post.
Over the Christmas period I bought a Fluval aquarium kit, 26 gal tank with the accessories. Received absolutely no advice from the local pet store where I got it. After reading the literature I learned a little about the nitrogen cycle. The kit contained a bottle of Fluval Biological Enhance which I added as directed. After 4 days I took a water sample to the lfs (local fish store?) and the clerk said everything was fine and I could add some fish. I bought 4 white cloud minnows and an ammonia test kit.

After a week I tested the water and got a value of ammonia which was the same as straight tap water <0.25 mg/l . I did a 20% water change as well. A few days later I returned to the lfs with another sample and all tested good. I bought and added 3 more mountain minnows.

I did another 20% water change one week on from the first change. Yesterday morning, 2 days after the water change, I tested for ammonia and got a reading of about 0.5mg/l. I did a another 20% water change. This morning the level of ammonia was still higher than I would like.

Now for my questions. I notice a lot of people use Prime to condition their water. As I understand it, if I treat my whole tank with Prime it will lock up the ammonia removing the harmful affects for about 24 to 48 hours. Once that period is up the ammonia is released back in the water column, is that correct? If so wouldn't that cause a big spike in harmful ammonia in the tank? This means I have to dose with Prime again or do a water change, is that correct? If I do a water change do I have to dose the whole tank again or just the new water that I'm adding? My API test kit for ammonia will continue to show the ammonia level even if it is locked up by Prime, right?