Setting up 55 gallon salt water tank?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jphendren

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hello,

I am extremely new to fish aquariums, and am in the process of setting up a 55 gallon salt water aquarium. So far I have purchased a 55 gallon Fujimoto aquarium with glass lid, a Rena XP3 canister filter, a solid wood aquarium stand with canopy, and some assorted odds and ends.

I am curious if I can do this with the canister filter first of all? When I bought the stuff from a local fish shop, one of the staff suggested the Rena XP3, and I told him my ambition was a reef tank with coral at some point, now it seems that I may have been misinformed.

Another question I have is can I add live rock as I can afford it? This stuff runs about $6.99 per pound to $10 per pound locally, so to just go out and buy 55 pounds of it would be tough for me.

What is a good substrate to use for a salt water tank, my local shop sells live Fiji Pink sand, which I like the look of.

Thanks for any advice.

Jared

it seems to be the general consensus that canister filters are nitrate breeders. you will probably be better off setting up a sump, i'll let others chime in on that one.

as far as live rock goes, when I set my tank up I had 10lbs from an existing tank, bought a 8lb piece of live and the rest was base rock, which will become "live"

live sand is usually a waste of money, how live does it stay sitting on a shelf in a bag??
Be sure to post pics of the build up and let the tank cycle!
hope this helps, from one newbie to another

the fiji pink is good to use, but bill is right. "live" sand is just sand with some bacteria on it. any sand you put in the tank will become live after a time. i would choose a calcium based sand that is slightly larger than sugar granules. just buy dry sand and rinse it very well before adding it.