silly potassium question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

crazycat

Aquarium Advice FINatic
so i dry dose K. i take a cupful of tank water, add my dry k2s04 and stir. then i pour it into the aquarium. i try to evenly distribute it as i pour. as we all know, k2s04 doesn't dissolve real well in water. so my question is, do the plants that get the k poured directly on them get fetilized better than other plants not directly under the stream from my cup? do the particles stay where they fall, or does enough of it enter the water column?

i've been having a lot of potassium issues in my tank...i've resorted to majorly overdosing to try to satisfy my swords (i also added root tabs for them). but i'm still a little confused and frustrated.

Moved to planted tank forum.

I'm still a noob to fertilizing aquatic plants, but I know that terrestrial plants are subject to burning when dry ferts are dropped directly on top of them. I would try to dissolve all the K2SO4 you are adding - even if it takes a couple cups of tank water.

Eventually, the particles would dissolve and enter the water column. Rooted plants like swords may take up K in the form of root tabs faster, unlike plants that absorb nutrients directly from the water (Java fern, moss, etc).

Check out Malkore's sticky about ferts. There's a link to Chuck's Aquarium Page where you can find a great calculator for dosing potassium, among other things.

Right now, I'm using Flourish-Potassium liquid, until I can find a cheap source of K2SO4. It's easy, but expensive.

I pour about 5 cups of hot/lukewarm water in a bowl, and mix my ferts in that. The increased temperature really dissolves them fast, then quick dumpsies into the tank! The small amount of hot water won't affect temp of the tank at all!