sorry guys... dumb question.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Travis55

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hey all a buddy of mine breeds african cichlids. And i can get them for $3 a piece. BEAUTIFUL colors, but... I don't wanna be stuck with just cichlids. I like catfish and angle fish, toadfish aka freshwater lionfish. Lol they are cool too. I just reeeaaalllyyy don't want just cichlids. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks all!!! He will also sell me 100 guppies for $30. I know the cichlids will destroy the guppies.lol

It just depends on what you are trying to do and what kind of tank you have to work with. It sounds like your best option would be to get multiple tanks.

I have a 55 gallon. I don't have room for multiple tanks... I just don't know what to do... I really like cichlids but I don't wanna get tired of the same fish...

well im kinda new with cichlids myself, but i've done a lot of research and from what i've learned is putting other fish in the tank is not a good idea. of course it all depends on what kind, but most likely those other fish will just get bullied on and picked apart. cichlids are a pretty aggressive fish...

It sounds like you just need to research some fish and wait till you fall in love with a particular species then build around it.

I like the electric blues and yellows. It just doesn't seem like I'm gonna be able to get them because of the aggresion

when you develop a cichlid tank, theres almost no way you can get bored of it imo. the colours can range from striking to subtle, personalities just the same. 55gal can hold an oscar or bigger ones like a jack dempsey or convicts, or a big african colony.
plus if you go mbuna, theres so many colour variants within this category that you can mix without mega aggression issues like if you mixed AC with SA.