starting a new 55gal tank few questions .

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sudsbeers

Aquarium Advice Newbie
so I am new to fish aquariums started with a 32 gal a couple of months ago with many mistakes to learn from , started with gravel , then switched to sand to fast and screwed up my cycle lesson learned only change substrate a 1/3 at a time luckily no fish lost , had whisper ex40 hob filter had lots water quality issues so switched to a whisper ex70 one side with purigen , one side with there carbon filter big big difference in water quality issues (still not sure if its because of the over sized filter or added purigen ) have 10 glowfish danio's and 4 cori's had 7 but 3 did not make it past the first 48 hours even with proper drip acclimation and proper api water ranges ,but think it was that they where week from the start (poor little guys) also have 7 nice size anubis plants in the tank that seem to be thriving even with out any added nutrients or co2 also added mts snails to stair up the sand ... so it seems so far this tank is good to go so now its time to set up the 55 gal tank the rite way this time :)

so petco had a $1 per gallon sale on tanks could not resist getting a 55 gal tank for $55 lol so I been buying things for the tank as I find sales on them a little at a time to not blow out my budget :)
so I got
1.Marineland Perfecto Glass Canopy 48 in. x 13 in,

2. (2) Marineland Visi-Therm Deluxe Submersible Heater 100W
was told 2 smaller heaters are better then 1 big heater ? or should I have 2 bigger heaters ?note I do have a spared 150 watt heater as a back up for the 32 gal