Starting a new tank..

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Xathos

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello, I'm new to salt water aquariums and I bought some of the setup tonight and I'm excited to get started. I had some freshwater cichlids around 5 years ago so i'm not a complete novice, but I know saltwater is a lot more difficult to take care of.. Anyway, I plan on doing a FOWLR setup, so i have sufficient lighting for that, but not for coral. I bought a the following so far:

38 gallon tank
40 pounds of ocean direct live sand
Emperor 280 power filter
API Saltwater master test kit.
Hydrometer
Prime
Stability
50 Gallons Instant Ocean Reef Crystals..
A couple 5 gallon buckets.

So, yea, tons of research here I come.. though I am very excited to start everything, I know it won't be a few weeks or even a month until I can get fish for it..

I was told to wait until the tank is setup for a few days with everything running before I buy the 38 pounds of Live Rock and heater. so i will do that in a couple days.. Do you still think I need a powerhead for this small of a tank that isn't going to have coral?

Anything else you think I need that i might be missing? Just want to add I haven't started adding anything into to the tank yet, everything is still packed, I want to read as much as I can before I start.. I know about cycling from doing freshwater setups.. but I need to read if anything is different for saltwater setups. Thanks for your time.

If you can trade the hydrometer in for a refractometer t iis much more accurate and easy to use. I have noticed that water movement helps keep algae away so you might want to get a power head.

Take is slow and be patient is probably the best advice I have ever taken. Read up on problems people have with their tanks before you set yours up so you will know when stuff is going wrong or right for it.