Starting Up a New Aquarium!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mushy

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey everyone, I'm extremely new to the fish life, but I've done a ton of research so I should able to do fine with any tips you can give me!

What I'm mainly wondering is what size of tank I should go for.
I'm planning on having this tank on a stand in my room, which is nicely sized, upstairs, and lots of empty room.
I was thinking of going for a shrimp and schooling fish type of tank, but also considering larger fish so I could actually name them... Can't really name dozens of little fish and shrimp =/
I personally favor the shrimp/school tank because of Pikmim. I think a variety of colored shrimp would be awesome at creating a Pikmin-like setting. Sadly, I wouldn't be able to do many different species due to their breeding.

I'LL BE STARTING FROM THE BOTTOM.
I currently have no spare parts, and will be purchasing them to accommodate the tank size I decide on.
Although, I will most likely have help from my friend's perfectly cycled tank.

Any tips and suggestions would be great, thanks!

hmm. I'm not sure what you mean by Pikmin.. isn't that a video game?

Personally I would suggest your start with a slightly bigger tank. Like 50 gallons. I think that gives you good space for schooling fish if this is what you want. You could keep a few different types and still have adequate schools. Bigger tank are also more forgiving of mistakes than smaller ones so that's always a bonus.

Do you know if you are doing a fish in or fishless cycle? In the articles section on this site there are some great ones about cycling.

There are some larger schooling fish like Rainbow fish. Though again if they all look the same naming them may not be so easy either. ;)