Stock list for 14 gal - please advise - purple stripe danio?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

siva

Aquarium Advice Addict
Stocking a new 14 gal and ordering some fish I can't find locally..yay :D I had asked a question about glo fish/zebra danios and decided they are best in a 20+ gal tank, but what about some of the other types of danio? I am interested in the chela dadybujori/purple stripe danio or the danio erythromicron/zebra rasbora..would either of these work in this tank? I'd also like to add some corydoras habrosus and boraras brigittae. How many of each of these can I add to this tank? I have zero hands on experience with these fish, haven't even seen them in person. TIA ;)

The danios and rasbora's I have to order by the 6's. I was thinking 12 rasbora and 6 danios? But I have to get 10 of the corydoras hasbrosus. If I can't fit them all, which I'm assuming I cannot, I will have to find room for the rest elsewhere.

I would go with 5 danios, 5 rasboras, and 4 cories. The other stocking is REALLY overstocked.

Are you familiar with these fish? They are "nano" fish. I've been told on this forum that the rasboras at full size are as small as red cherry shrimp and that keeping several in a 3 gal tank is fine. Corydoras hasbrosus grow up to .75". Tiny...half the size of a julii cory, which is already half the size of most other cories.

I would not go with the danios, but no personal experience with them (just based on other recommendations I have seen for them). The micro rasboras, you could get 12-15 with no problem. The cories, I would think 4 of them would be ideal, but that doesn't help if you have to home 10.

Last edited: