Stocking ideas for 29 gallon planted GBR

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

New_b0401

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hello, I am planning on setting up a heavily planted 29 gallon tank woth drift wood and all that good stuff. Could anyone give me some stocking suggestions? I'm basing my stock off of a pair of german blue rams. Also I've heard ya and nah on a betta with GBR any opinions? I would love to get my betta out of his bowl and into a tank.

Sent from my SCH-R530U using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Also any plant ideas would be great! Would like to add some depth and contrast to the tank. I'm new to planted tanks so please take that into consideration and they will also need to be low light.

Sent from my Xoom using Aquarium Advice mobile app

What is your lighting exactly? Java fern (including narrow leaf, needle lead, Philippine, etc), anubias, crypts, and easy mosses like Java, Christmas, peacock, flame and so forth are your best bet for low light plants. There are dozens of different anubias and crypts so you should be able to get a good mix of color, size, and leaf structure. Crypts are heavy root feeders and will benefit from fertilizer root tabs.

I'm not sure what kind of light I will be purchasing. I need to stay a little on the cheap side any suggestions? I will upgrade later if I decide to go with higher light plants. Would sand be a good\ok substrate for GBR and the plants?

Oh and I should probably add I would like to breed my GBR pair so trying to avoid fish that might eat the fry.

Oooh! I suggest gouramis and livebearers including mollies, guppies or platies.

i actually found this post earlier and went to AQADVISOR to check the plan I had for you and it seemed good but I couldn't find your post again. Now I have:D

So here's what I have:

-2 GBRs