stocking questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

LadyApril83

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hi,
I have a vague idea of the fish I like but I don't know what would be good in my tank right now. I am just starting out so here is what I have
A 37 gallon tank
A top fin 40 filter
200w heater
And the led lights that came with the top fin they are all white and very bright
A floating thermometer and a strip one.
Gravel substrate black and neon
3 moss balls one about 3 inches and 2 one inch. I have a bubbled put into my coral and a few fake plants
As for fish I have 5 tetra 2 short fin black stripe and 3 long fin black stripe.
I also have 6 ghost shrimp (although I can only find 4 I'm thinking maybe the tetra ate the very small ones)
I really want some live plants and some colorful fish. I like dwarf gourami a lot and long fins
I was told to get a liquid test kit which I will do when I get the chance. Right now I'm taking water to get tested at the store
Thanks
April

ForumRunner_20130723_082456.jpg

ForumRunner_20130723_082521.jpg

ForumRunner_20130723_082540.jpg

Oh and I do want some cleaning fish like a cory and otos..plecos scare me as I don't want to hurt them by having a smaller tank.

Oh and I do want some cleaning fish like a cory and otos..plecos scare me as I don't want to hurt them by having a smaller tank.

Smaller plecs will max put at around 4-5". Like bristlenose plecos and clown plecos. Cories are great little scavengers. However otos are a lot harder to care for than the other two species. And tend to die easier.