Tank Done Cycling?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cichlid.lover

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I've been cycling my 29g tank for a couple months now and FINALLYY my ammonia levels are back down they were off the charts last week so I know my nitrite and nitrate levels will fall soon...but how soon? And once they all go down again does that mean my tanks done cycling? If not, how do you know? I was hoping to get my fish next week so do you think my tank will be good by then? Thanks!

I read this one article that said tanks take 6-8 weeks to cycle? how long should it normally take? o_O

cichlid.lover said:
I read this one article that said tanks take 6-8 weeks to cycle? how long should it normally take? o_O

Around a month is normally average if you've got some little tricks up your sleeve like raising the temperature to the ideal range for the beneficial bacteria, providing lots of oxygen, doing a couple water changes, making sure pH isn't at extremes, providing nutrients to the bacteria, etc... The guide I linked covers pretty much all the little hints you can do to make things go the fastest. Usually if you've hit the 2 month mark that signifies there's an issue which needs to be corrected...especially if it took that long for the ammonia to drop. I'd start at the beginning of the guide, read over and make sure nothing basic is missing. It might also be a good idea to do a large water change and dose the ammonia back up. That will refresh the water and hopefully get things moving.

okay thanks so much!!..so will it be ok to add some tiger barbs once the nitrites and nitrates get to appropriate levels?