To plant or not to plant (Angel species tank)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

AquaBear

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hello forum:

I'm putting up a new tank (my 4th, oh jeez), which is a 30g FW. I specifically got the X-tall model with the intent of building a species tank just for Angels, with plenty of room. I've never used real plants before, and the plastic ones for taller tanks usually look so cheesy, so I thought I might check into this planting thing.

Right now, I just have the bare tank with an Ebo Jager heater and an Eclipse 2 light/filtration system (my first attempt at one of these models). I put on a solid black background so whatever I put in the tank will be the focal point. Knowing that my intent is to create a home primarily for Angels, should I plant or not? If so, what are some fairly easy-to-grow plants that will help make the tank comfortable for Angels? Should I plant them before I add the fish, or after?

Also, are there other things that Angels typically like to have around them that I should be sure to include, such as driftwood, special rocks, rock formations, or non-fish inhabitants? Even though the tank isn't dirty right now (it's brand new), should I consider a pleco?

TIA,
--AquaBear
(Quickly becoming a fish fanatic)

Well the problem I see it is that you have a lousy lighting system. You might try and grow some of the taller longer Crypts. With the height of the tank and low wattage of the hood I doubt they will even do well for you.

I'm sorry, I don't follow what you're saying. I don't have any plants at all, it's a brand new tank. The Eclipse hood has adequate lighting, I would hope. Are you saying that my hood is insufficient to grow real plants?

--AquaBear

How many watts is the light that came with it? You should have about 2 watts per gallon in order to have live plants.