Too many fish too soon?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

newfishhobbyist

Aquarium Advice Regular
I just want to get everyone's advice/suggestions. I have a 55 gallon aquarium and just now have an established tank - I had 6 red glass barbs and 6 glo-fish but the barbs started getting too aggressive (I'm a newbie and the LFS employee told me they were peaceful community fish!) and I lost 3 glo-fish so I took them back to the LFS. Now I have 3 glo-fish and and added about 14 neon tetras. I just added the tetras on Saturday and added a flyer pleco. Is it too soon to add 6 juvenile silver dollars this weekend?

Thanks!

I would say wait. you need to let your tank adjust to the new bio-load before adding more fish. I probably wouldn't have added 14 tetras as once; so keep a good eye on your water parameters and do water changes as necessary. Keep in mind that plecos tend to have high bio-loads.

I agree, you need to let your tank age a while before you start sticking alot of fish in there, especially such sensitive fish as Neons. People have terrible luck with Neons just dying for no reason, and they seem to really only flourish in very established and usually planted tanks.