Too Much Food or Just Right???????

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jdf_jeff

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi All,

I'm relatively new to the saltwater aquarium hobby, but did acquire a 55g tank from a friend that is complete with live rock and two fish ( clown and yellow tang). He has had the tank (and same fish) for right at 15 years...so I am just continuing what he had been doing as it obviously has worked well.

I do have some questions....regarding feeding. I have found alot of bristle worms living in the rock (just a guess, but probably twenty or thirty...mostly small), and at the time of the move he was very suprised to see them...he didn't like what he saw. We discussed possibly pulling the food back a little to see if it helped, but don't want to harm the fish. Here's what we're feeding them..... three frozen cubes from the foil packs every evening and a leaf of Kale clipped to the inside of the tank at all times. Does this sound like too much food for the tank load, or is it about right? If I pull the food back to say two cubes, and the fish are needing more food, what signs should I watch for?