Ugh, not another Driftwood question... :-P

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

AquaJoe

Aquarium Advice Freak
I must admit, when it comes to driftwood I am a total NEWBIE. I recently collected a few nice pieces from the shore of Cape Breton island, which is in the atlantic ocean. I don't think there is MUCH pollution in the water but I decided to soak my driftwood anyway just for precaution. In the initial soaking I added about 4 TBS to a bath tub filled with hot water and let it soak for about 12 hours. For the second soaking I filled the tub with hot water and added no bleach. After both soakings the water was not noticeably yellow at all. There is a bit of sand and dirt in the water but nothing too serious..

That said, here are my questions:
-How many more times should I soak the wood? (please factor in that I used bleach the initial soaking)
-Why is the water I am soaking it in not tainted after a 12 hour soak?
-Should I sand the wood down for a moe estheticly appealing look?
-What the heck are those little square tiles called that are commonly used to anchor driftwood? Any pointers as to how to attatch them?

Thanks in advance :)

Joe

Im not sure how many more times you should soak it.. Take in consideration it is from the ocean though..
You got these from the ocean... Im guessing that might be why they dont taint the water
I dont see why you couldnt sand down a surface but I would think the natural surface would look good..
The stone they use to anchor driftwood is called slate
HTH

I've been soaking mine for about 3 weeks now. But then again, I didn't bleach it. Are the pieces small enough that you can boil them? If so, I'd boil it for about an hour, twice. just as a precaution and to release some of the tannins (if there are any).