Very new to crystal red shrimp!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Vikkiog

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hey guys just wondering if any of you had advice for me and my new shrimp :) The tanks 10g, full of wood and moss along with around 20 shrimp and two little filters. I have some knowledge on these guys from some researching but they were sold to me with the tank on a whim so I don't want to do anything wrong. The one thing that is bothering me is there some black algae on the wood, its really bushy. Is it something I should get rid of or do the shrimp gain from it? Ill be sure to get some pictures when they've settled in!

Another question: the man I bought them from says he never did water changes just topped up evaporated water with ro water and minerals. Is this the right way to do it?
Thanks.

Crystal shrimp need a much lower pH and softer water than cherry shrimp do. So the RO water is good, but usually needs to be remineralized to some extent, as pure RO will result in pH swings that can kill shrimp. Test now to know what it should be.

Many shrimp keepers get a TDS meter, which measures total dissolved solids in water. It can help with getting the minerals right, though they can cost a bit.

There are products, if not at Petsmart, you can order online, to remineralize with and mineral stones for shrimp can be bought, which help too. They also tend to do best with food made for them, rather than fish food. Also available online. Mosura is one good brand name. There are others.

Test water regularly and make sure the parameters remain stable. Changes are usually not needed as often as with fish, but may be needed once in awhile. Testing often is the only way to be sure the water is ok for them, unless you wait 'til they start dying.