VERY Sick Molly - HELP

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

schiribizzolo

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi All,

I am really concerned that my fourth golden sailfin molly is also going to die!! Most of the other fish seem fine, although a flying fox is having a slightly swollen belly (maybe). I am new to fish keeping and I am completely at a loss.

The molly is hiding, laying on its left side (the other 3 mollies also over the last 2 months showed similar signs and died), swimming erratically, then die eventually. Breathing seems to be faster. There seems to be some reddish lines near the gills. The water quality was a problem before, but for the last month or so, it has been very good. I have treated the fish for bacterial infections, and now for flukes for the last 10 days, but no use. I am currently uploading a video on youtube and as soon as it goes up, I will attach the link here!

Please help!!
Thanks.

Attachments

• IMG_2029.jpg
    IMG_2029.jpg
    17.8 KB · Views: 177
  • IMG_2031.jpg
    IMG_2031.jpg
    20 KB · Views: 178
  • IMG_2036.jpg
    IMG_2036.jpg
    18.9 KB · Views: 182
Swimming erratically can be a sign of either bad water or internal parasites. Do you have any flubendazole on you? What did you use for the flukes? Praziquantel?

Also what did you use for the bacterial infection? If they are dying real quick I reckon it would be a bacteria that is resistant to the strain of antibiotics you used to treat. If it is columnaris which is a massive killer of fish then you need API furan 2 and Seachem kanaplex combined. Try that. If that doesn't work and you've treated for parasites internal and external than I'm stumped.