Water problems

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Blahblahblah

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi, I am very new to the Aquarium world and am having problems with my water. I have a 29 gallon tank and my level's are off bad and I've tried all kinds of chemical. I used tap water with Tetra Aquasafe. We had a bad problem with brown algae so we took out 10 gallons and scraped the glass clean. Now our levels are out of wak. My NItrites are 10.0 My Hardness is 150, Alkalinity 300 and my PH is 8.4. I keep adding the AquaSafe conditioner and was told to get some PH reducer. I've put it in 4 times now and have had no changes. Now my Corydoras Melini's are hiding in what we now call the death rock. Can anyone help or give me some advice Please?!

The only good thing about water conditioning issues is the first step to remedy is almost always the same - change it. I'd recommend testing the tap water you're starting with.

The brown algae are diatoms and it's usually in a newly setup tank. It'll go away on it's own. Your nitrites are high because your tank is not cycled. Your hardness and alkalinity are slightly high and your ph is definitely high. Make sure you test your tapwater and tank water too with an api liquid master test kit. Then get back to me and I'll try to help you. Do not use ph up or down it's a waste of money.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Aquarium Advice mobile app