Weird looking Cardinal Tetra!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Yadja

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello everyone!

I spotted 2 weird looking cardinal tetra in my community tank about a week ago. One looks quite worst than the other.

I uploaded a picture as attachement.

I can't seem to find any info about what could be going on. I really hope someone can help, I'm quite new to fishkeeping and I want to learn everything :)

The little ones developped kind of a dark lump at the bottom of their tail and the worst looking one also seems to have more of a curved spine now.

It doesnt seem contagious since none of my other tetra, cardinal and neon, looks any different.

Anyone has any ideas?
Thank you!!

Attachments

• 20230730_170649.jpg
    20230730_170649.jpg
    127.3 KB · Views: 31
Hello everyone!

I spotted 2 weird looking cardinal tetra in my community tank about a week ago. One looks quite worst than the other.

I uploaded a picture as attachement.

I can't seem to find any info about what could be going on. I really hope someone can help, I'm quite new to fishkeeping and I want to learn everything :)

The little ones developped kind of a dark lump at the bottom of their tail and the worst looking one also seems to have more of a curved spine now.

It doesnt seem contagious since none of my other tetra, cardinal and neon, looks any different.

Anyone has any ideas?
Thank you!!
It appears to be a tumor or a virus, neither of which is curable and the fish should be euthanized in case it is a virus that can spread to your other Tetras in a more mature stage. The fish in the picture is a Neon Tetra and not a Cardinal and sadly, since most Neons on the market are farm raised, they are known to be carrying this new virus. Most Cardinals on the other hand, are sustainably wild caught so less likely to bring in genetic diseases.