What do i need to start saltwater?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

emerald76

Aquarium Advice Addict
I would like to start a FOWLR tank but I need some information on saltwater and what you need. Also, I am looking at the Red Sea Max 250 aquarium, which is 66 gallons. What could I stock in this tank? I want a goby or gobies and an angelfish if it is possible. I would also like a clownfish. Does anyone have stocking ideas?
These are the fish I definitely want but I have no saltwater experience so please critique it
1x yellow watchman goby
2x cinnamon clownfish or 2x false percula clownfish
Also could I do two gobies two clowns and some sort of angel?What else could I include?

In my 55 gallon:
I have 2 percula clowns
1 firefish
1 six line wrasse only one that swims all through the rock cool to watch
1 yellow watchman and pistol shrimp
I had a starry blenny that was really cool but he died a couple weeks ago.
Cleaner shrimp are cool to watch
I have a purple dotty back also but he likes to chase the six line around. Wish I would have got the royal gramma instead

Good Luck!!

I'm planning on turning my Freshwater tank into a saltwater tank and from my research here is the equipment I'm getting. (my tank is 55 gals)

Marineland emperor 400 hang on back filter

Protein skimmer

2 1400 gph power heads

A lighting system with at least 4 t-5's and 4 led moonlights.

Hang on back refugium (because I want a gold headed sleeper goby)

Saltwater master test kit by API

Refractometer to test water salinity

300 W heater

Thermometer

Aragonite sand. Enough for a sand bed 2-3 inches because I want a gold headed sleeper goby.

20lbs live rock

40lbs base rock