what is the brownish coating on substrate??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Stormisan

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi! Newbie here. I just started my first 5 gal planted betta fish tank last Monday, so my tank is fairly new. The fishless cycle has already been completed before I added cosmo, my male betta. I have also made sure my tank water parameters are ideal. I've been keeping track of my progress through a journal and I think my fish is doing really well!

Here is some info:
Temp is always 26celcius/78 Fahrenheit.
I haven't done a water change yet, but I will as soon as nitrates get above 30 ppm.
PH is a steady 8.0
Nitrites are around 15 ppm.
And last time I tested ammonia, it was around 25 ppm.
(I didn't test nitrates yet as I didn't think there'd be a lot yet)
I leave the tank led light on around 10-14 hours a day as well.

Recently though, I've noticed areas of my white gravel turning brownish? Could this be fish poop? There's also string/cobweb-ish like things growing on the surface of some of my plants (??Algae???).
I've attached some photos below.

What is this, and how can I fix it? Its been making my aquarium look unpleasant and dirty :( Please help!
Thanks!

Attachments

• IMG_3137.jpg
    IMG_3137.jpg
    191.5 KB · Views: 28
  • Screen Shot 2022-04-04 at 5.27.44 PM.jpg
    Screen Shot 2022-04-04 at 5.27.44 PM.jpg
    65.3 KB · Views: 31
They are diatoms, sometimes called brown algae. They feed off nutrient inbalances in newly set up aquariums and tend to go away on their own once these nutrients run out after 2 or 3 weeks.

Could you confirm your water parameters please.

If ammonia is 25ppm and nitrite is 15ppm your fish should already be dead. Is there a decimal point missing somewhere?