What kind of crab is this??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

breelle

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
So tomorrow I'll be getting a crab from some friends who don't want him anymore, and they have no clue what kind of crab he is, they've had him for about a year, if you guys know I would love some tips on how to care for them as I'm new to the who crab thing ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1393406228.935135.jpg

Yeah, looks like a freshwater fiddler based on the large claw to me. Have an area where he can climb out of the water or else he will try to escape. Ask me how I know.

Sent from my GT-P5210 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Sorry, I missed the last pic nvm

Yeah, looks like a freshwater fiddler based on the large claw to me. Have an area where he can climb out of the water or else he will try to escape. Ask me how I know.

Yeah but... Fiddlers usually have a large SKINNY claw and the other one is usually 4 times smaller... His is only half the size smaller... And he's kind of large too... Not huge but a bit bigger than a golf ball

Check out pics of mud crabs and see if they match.

Not a mud crab... maybe a different species of fiddler?

Not a mud crab... maybe a different species of fiddler?

Defiantly not a mud crab, he doesn't have those flat feet in the back
And fiddlers claws are usually longer and thinner and a lot more light colored than the crabs body...

I was going though some google images and found a crab that had the same exact colors and features as him (it was most likely a female though) and there was no specific name other than a type of mangrove crab

It is a red clawed crab. I sell a lot of these little fellows.

Unless there's completely another type of crab called a red clawed crab other than the ones sold at petsmart
Then he's defiantly not a red claw

ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1394878537.069241.jpg