What to plant

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

New_b0401

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I'm new to aquariums but I LOVE the idea of a blasted tank I have a betta in a 10 gallon tank that I was gonna start out in. Any suggestions on what I should plant? Any tips would also be great!

Sent from my SCH-R530U using Aquarium Advice mobile app

I'm very new to this and I'm working on research right now. All I have are my normal aquarium lights will those work or do I need special lights for a planted tank?

I'm new to aquariums but I LOVE the idea of a blasted tank I have a betta in a 10 gallon tank that I was gonna start out in. Any suggestions on what I should plant? Any tips would also be great!

Welcome to AA! If your idea is to have a killer planted betta tank, then you my friend have found the right place.

I started with a basic 10gallon kit from a big box store. It had multi colored gravel, sponge bob decor, and fake neon plants.

Tip #1- get a water testing kit (Recommend API master freshwater test kit)

Tip #2- get lighting. You can get away with cfl bulbs in a stock hood for a cost effective alternative. That's what I currently use with decent results.

Tip#3- get substrate. I can only recommend what I've used, which is fluorite and Eco complete.

Start with easy plants like Java fern, Java moss and Anubis. ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1400725959.562099.jpg
Java fern on the right Anubis on the left.

Pittbully I must point out that I love your tank! What kind of plants do you have in it? (I'll deffinitly start out with the beginners I'm just curious(; )

Thank you for all your help! I will deffinitly look into gettin lights. Do most lfs carry them?

Pittbully I must point out that I love your tank! What kind of plants do you have in it? (I'll deffinitly start out with the beginners I'm just curious(; )