What type of food do you use?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

vanessa2155

Aquarium Advice Newbie
My LFS sold me Omega One. My fish seem to love it. I also bought Omega One Super Color Cichlid. Is Omega One a high quality brand? I have no idea.:)

My LFS sold me Omega One. My fish seem to love it. I also bought Omega One Super Color Cichlid. Is Omega One a high quality brand? I have no idea.:)

I don't recommend their pellets due to the amount of swelling that occurs when soaked in water, this can cause impaction to the intestinal track but their flake food is good.

I normally use Ken's Cichlid flake & Spirulina flake, with an occasional slice of zuccini, string beans or peas. NLS is very good too. I have no experience with other brands. Avoid Bloodworms, they can lead to bloat.

I don't recommend their pellets due to the amount of swelling that occurs when soaked in water, this can cause impaction to the intestinal track but their flake food is good.

Really? Interesting...how about Hikari pellets?...unfortunately all my fish are hooked on pellets. In my Community I use Flake.

Really? Interesting...how about Hikari pellets?...unfortunately all my fish are hooked on pellets. In my Community I use Flake.

The only pellets from Hikari I have used was their Bio-Gold line which does not swell like Omega One's, the two cases of Bloat I've personally gone through were results of trying Omega's cichlid pellets. Now my entire collection of tanks that consists of close to 1000g is fed exclusively on New Life Spectrum pellets, the type of cichlids I keep and breed are not able to survive on flake food alone.

I'm also looking into Repashy super foods currently but don't have anything other than some experience from others in GCCA, but the prospects look good.

HUKIT said: