What types of peacock cichlids?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jtwin64

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hat types of other cichlids can I put with peacock cichlids? I want to have a variety of color, I have a 30 gallon tank. How many 6 inch fish can I place in it? I've always heard to overcrowd cichlids. Is this true?

I don't think any peacock cichlids should live in a 30 gallon tank. I'm not a cichlid expert but I think the limit is 55-75 gallons.

30 gallon cichlid stocking ideas?

I need help with finding the species of cichlid to stock. I have a 30 gallon that is being over filtered and I am okay with doing weekly water changes. I have always heard to overcrowd cichlids. I want to have a variety of color in my tank and some decent size fish. I want to have peacocks because of their color, but not sure if the tank is right size? What other colorful cichlids can I place in the tank? Please help.

What type of cichlids can I put in a 30 gallon? It's the only largest size of tank I can place on the second floor of my house? Id like to have cichlids that have color and grow to around 4-6 inches?

an afra cichlid only gets about 4". i dont know how long your tank is ut you could do 1 male and 3 females. the males have tons of color btw

Check out the Protomelas family of cichlids. Very colorful, and about the same temperment as Alunacara. My opinion is one or two fish in that size tank, and lots of WC's.

foster53 said:
Check out the Protomelas family of cichlids. Very colorful, and about the same temperment as Alunacara. My opinion is one or two fish in that size tank, and lots of WC's.

What are WC? And thanks for answering

Jtwin64 said: